Invalid Captcha, please try again.
Homestead Exemption ( Florida Statute 196.031) is a constitutional guarantee that reduces the taxable value of residential property for qualified permanent residents. Every person who has legal or equitable title to real property in the State of Florida and who resides thereon and in good faith makes it his or her permanent home is eligible to receive a homestead exemption of up to $50,000. The first $25,000 applies to all property taxes. The additional $25,000 applies to any assessed value over $50,000 and only to non-school taxes.
Applicant must be owner and occupy dwelling prior to January 1
In order to apply for homestead exemption, the following documents are needed:
- Recorded deed or tax bill in your name. (Preferably recorded deed)
- Florida driver’s license showing permanent residence address.
-License must show permanent residence by January 1st of the filing year
- Florida vehicle registration.
- Nassau County voter registration card, if you are a registered voter.
- Social Security number
- Date of Birth
- Property owned with dwellings outside of Nassau County: Must show proof of cancellation of any residency required exemption or homestead exemption.
- If filing for portability: Copy of property information on previous Florida homestead.
- If not a U.S. Citizen: Copy of residency (green) card.
- If you are active military: Copy of L.E.S. showing Florida as state of legal residence.
- If property is held in a trust: Must provide trust papers.
- If filing on a mobile home: Provide certificate of registration or title to show mobile home is in your name.
All of the above information is required of both husband and wife, even if the property is in only one name.
*Pursuant to Florida Statute 196.011 (8), any applicant who is qualified to receive any exemption under subsection (1) and who fails to file an application by March 1, must file an application for exemption with the property appraiser on or before the 25th day following the mailing by the property appraiser of the notices required under s. 194.011 (1).